top of page
  • teeceroundx

Injury...

"Injury is not just a process of recovery it's a process of discovery" Conor McGregor


This is a mantra I believe everyone in life should follow. It has kept me sane over the last 5 weeks I must say.


It has been a tough time, but I feel like I have crested the summit of this minor set back and now I'm committed to hitting the ground running on this major comeback. I have been suffering with what I like to call 'neopro knee' basically ITB tightness and Quad tightness miss aligning my kneecap. The rehab has been intense to say the least. Hours of stretching and dreaded foam rolling have been completed but after 5 weeks, touch wood, it has gone for the foreseeable. During this time, it is quite remarkable to discover how many weaknesses we all have individually. It is also remarkable at how much difference can be made in 2 weeks. Whether that be mentally or physically. In the end it is only ones self who can prevent injuries from occurring.

Lots of mobility and strength training on the horizon for myself and torture of the foam roller :)


But I'm happy to say I've been back on the bike for 1week and I'm already feeling miles better than before. Furthermore, exams and coursework are finally all complete and submitted and that's me done for mandatory education!!! Such a relief from my point of view and probably many other my age.


Looking forward now, a good few weeks is needed to get back to some form of shape and hopefully I can start racing towards the end of June but more likely to be the middle of July if I was to be more of a realist. Bit of a cliche but I'm more motivated than ever and I pray that what feels like an ever lasting run of bad luck will finally come to an end now. All eyes on the second half of the season.


72 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Consistency is Key

Since coming back from injury the main focus for my coach and I has been consistency. This is the main factor in mastering training and...

Back to basics

rehab can be monotonous at times... This month started with week 2 of rehab. It went very well finally getting back into a routine with...

Comments


bottom of page