top of page
  • teeceroundx

Consistency is Key

Since coming back from injury the main focus for my coach and I has been consistency. This is the main factor in mastering training and making adaptations. I have had a really good months training with no set backs ( touch wood ). Making lots of gains on and off the bike to hopefully get the win in a few races coming up which I'm hankering after, to be totally honest.


Motivation has been key over the last 4 weeks to get some form back after the time off, and to achieve this I have been doing an effort up a local climb to me. Since the start of this training block I have knocked 2.5 mins off my PB. Massive Gains!!! I would be lying if I said that it hasn't given my confidence a boost but at he same time I need to keep grounded so that I don't become complacent.


Nutrition has also been a key factor in keeping this consistency going. I had got to the point where I was not recovering properly nor was I gaining/maintaining muscle when I should have been. Now a few weeks of experimentation and I have nailed it pretty much. Or I think I have at least :) Lots of rice...

After reading up about what your body needs to recover well enough, I think people don't understand the importance of carbs. Gone are the days where people used to smash a steak and then ride for 7 hours. Now you need carbs to replenish your glycogen stores and you do still need to consume some protein to keep the lean muscle and grow if that's your goal. After writing this SiS have just brought out their new Beta Fuel recovery which contains 30g of protein which complements 30g of carbs. If this doesn't prove the importance of carbs for recovery alongside protein of course then I don't know what does.


Anyway enough rambling about nutrition, What's next for me?

Well I have my first race in 2 weeks. A pretty grippy course by all accounts, so I will have to bring my A game for this one. Following that I have two 100km criterium races hosted by the YBC. always a fun race when you see YBC as the organisers. So that will be the main focal point of next months blog.


Thanks to Pedal Potential and Cycle Service Course for continued support this season.

37 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Back to basics

rehab can be monotonous at times... This month started with week 2 of rehab. It went very well finally getting back into a routine with...

Injury...

"Injury is not just a process of recovery it's a process of discovery" Conor McGregor This is a mantra I believe everyone in life should...

Comments


bottom of page