top of page
teeceroundx

Back to basics

rehab can be monotonous at times...


This month started with week 2 of rehab. It went very well finally getting back into a routine with training. I started off with 30 mins twice a day at low intensity on the turbo, then when the pain had gone or if there wasn't pain in the first place an extra 15/30mins added per session until I got to 1.5hrs twice a day and if this didn't flair up any issues in my knee then I was good to go and get back to proper 'structured' training. On Sunday I got a message from a good friend asking if I wanted to go to France. Well you can't say no to an opportunity such as this. So I replied and said when? The answer. Tomorrow? Bit short notice ey!!!

So we set off the next day, destination Chamonix...

It was such a nice change going from staring at zwift on the laptop to staring at the base of Mont Blanc. As the pain in my knee had gone and I had completed the on-bike rehab it was time to start training properly again. I just kept it at z2 for the week away, just to double and triple check that my knee was 100%. Rest days did get boring at times, but thankfully i only had 1 during our time away. But we made the most of it a took a mooch around the centre of Chamonix. With a plethora of designer outlets and cafes it kept Alex and I occupied for most of the day.

Just like that, after 10 days away it was time to come home and get back to some intensity. I had a bit of threshold work this week. I struggled quite a lot and barley managed to scape through the sessions, so an impromptu call with my coach was needed. After a pretty lengthy call we came to the conclusion that my training zones were not accurate after the 6 weeks I've had off, so we decided that I needed some lab testing down at the trainSharp HQ.


Having never done testing in a lab before it was really eye opening to see how complex but also interesting the testing actually is. The procedure included a sub maximal test which found my lactate threshold values and then we moved onto a ramp test and finished off with a couple of sprints. I was super satisfied with the results and so too was my coach. It showed us how much I need to improve to get to the level I need and want. Now It's time to knuckle down and give my trust in Jon to get me there.


The final week of this month was a target setting week for me. So I went down to the local 10 mile course and raced the club 10. I did it on a road bike for a bit of change. I did a 21:58 which was where I thought I was at. So now it gives us something to work on and improve on in the coming weeks. Hopefully by the time my next blog post comes out I will have started racing on the road again.


As always a massive thanks to Pedal Potential and Cycle Service Course for continued support this season.

46 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Consistency is Key

Since coming back from injury the main focus for my coach and I has been consistency. This is the main factor in mastering training and...

Injury...

"Injury is not just a process of recovery it's a process of discovery" Conor McGregor This is a mantra I believe everyone in life should...

Comments


bottom of page