top of page
  • teeceroundx

Clayton Spring Classic

Start of the classics season for the world tour and start of the road season here in the UK. The CV spring classic is a well renowned season opener here in the UK with a prestigious previous winners list including the likes of Tom Pidcock and Ian Stannard, it draws some very good riders from all over the north of England. The race is held as a handicap over 15 laps of the small Bashall Eaves circuit. This year was no different, with a decently stacked start list it was sure to be a very aggressive and tough race.


It was a very cold start to the race over near Clitheroe. But with the attacks going straight off the start line it wasn't long before we all warmed up. An attack went with the two strongest riders in the 2nd cat group in it. Poor positioning on my behalf meant I couldn't react in time to get on the back of the group. That was the last I saw of that group. Plenty more attacks went throughout the race. I managed to get away with one other ride to get out of the group we were in as the coherence had gone after that breakaway went. We managed to stay away for about 15-20mins but were brought back when the scratch group had caught the group behind. I managed to stay with the elites for 5 laps but in that time a few riders had pinged off and gone up the road. Our group then pretty much gave up as riders fatigued and fell off the back of our group. I managed to get away from the group with a couple of other riders in the last couple of laps but got brought back on the drag to the finish line.


It was a very demanding race and some power PB's were hit. Many mistakes were made during the race, but as it is the first race of the season I can iron these out before the bigger races come later on in the year. Even though the result doesn't reflect my performance, I'm satisfied with the race and now it's time to move on and set my eyes on targets further on in the season. Thanks as always to Pedal Potential, Withington Physiotherapy and Cycle Service Course for their support this season. Next up for me is a large block of training and a few crits before the U23 National Series starts in April.






114 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

March review

As March draws to a close it's time to take a look back at what's happened. I've raced 3 times this month, all of which being Nat B's alongside my training. I partook in the first 2 rounds of the Haus

bottom of page